A New Life Season

School will soon be starting for the rest of the kids in the Clever household. Avia will be going to second grade and having the same teacher that she had for first grade, and boy is she excited! So excited in fact that she was ready to start second grade before first grade was even over. This is due in part to the fact that she knew that she was going to have her first-grade teacher over again, and she simply LOVES her!

Vieira is still four-years old, five in November, so she misses the cut-off for Kindergarten and will be going to preschool for the first time. LEAVING . . . MOMMY . . . FOR . . .  THE  . . .  FIRST . . .  TIME, EEEK! Does she have separation anxiety? Well, I would say that since I cannot take a shower without her crying, I would say yes. That is seriously no joke; she has stood in the doorway, begging me not shower because she would “miss me”. While I love having a kid attached to me at all times, this can be a problem, hence the pre-school this year. She needs to get away from me and learn that you can’t talk to adults while they’re going to the bathroom. Wait a second . . . my boys still do that . . . so never mind that one.

So, all the Clever kids will be in school, pre-school counts right? So how do I feel about this? Well, my feelings are mixed. When the boys started Kindergarten, I decided that I needed a baby. It really hit me that they would both be gone at the same time. Meeting those big milestones at the same time, graduating high school and leaving home at the same time, and I didn’t think that I could handle that, so along came Avia. Well, she was a singleton, what do I do with one of those?? Her age difference from the boys is eight years, and I knew that they were not going to want to play with her for long, so I figured that I better get Avia a playmate, so along came Vieira and Vaila.

I love to see the kids’ accomplishments and the people that they are growing into; however, I can’t help but think that I need another baby. I know that sounds insane, especially since . . . . well, I have five kids at home, and I haven’t had much time to myself since 2002, so I’m trying to tell myself that this is going to be good for ME. I am going to do something for ME. What, do something for myself? Yes, well maybe; but, I do actually feel selfish about it. However, I am going to try and enjoy this new stage of life.

Perhaps some time away from the kids will make me a better parent. People tell me that I make this parenting thing look easy, but believe me, it’s not, and I often don’t feel like a good one. I suppose having chronic daily headaches and migraines has something to do with it. Because, well, I can only endure so much after having a headache all day. Or at times it’s so bad that I have to cower in my darkened room and put Quinton in charge – if he’s here. He’s really great about it, but as a kid, he shouldn’t have to be the parent when I can’t. I’ll tell you what though; he’s going to make someone a great husband and father someday – love you bub!

Ok, so back to all the time that I’m going to have available to ME. (4 hours a day, Monday through Thursday – or is it Tuesday through Friday? Whatever! Whoo Hooo!)  What to do – what to do!! Well, I have recently started writing again, professionally and creatively, and I would also like to paint again. But those things really should come last on the list seeing as I need to go through and get rid of some of our crap that we’ve accumulated in the past . . . let’s see . . . . well, my last yard sale was ten years ago. So, yeah, I need to purge every room in this house. Ugg should be fun!

Vieira said that she doesn’t want to go to school without me and that she’s going to ask her teacher if I can come too. I’ve told myself that I can help with the kids’ schools, now that they will ALL be in one – four different schools – but hey, we’re getting there. But honestly, I’m not so sure that my social anxiety will allow me to do that. Most people wouldn’t peg me for someone with social anxiety. But it’s true, the last place I want to be is out in public in the middle of the day . . . with people.

So what are my goals for this new season of life?

  1. Find a Neurologist who can help me – yeah right!
  2. Get that Mammogram that I’m oh so behind on – three years late I think.
  3. Purge and clean the house – maybe I’ll finally find the stamps.
  4. Overcome social anxiety by helping with schools . . . well, maybe. Maybe not!
  5. Write and paint.

That might not seem like a lot, but I think that’s probably enough for starters. After all, it’s only four hours, for four days a week. Give me a break people!

additional reading

“The brothers” have already started school at Lenape Vo-Tech. Click here if you haven’t read about them. 

Vaila started at Western PA School for Blind Children again this year. Click here to read about her.

Click here to read about the whole CraZy lot of them!

If you’re still interested in my writing – or just bored with nothing else to do – go here to my home page for more blog articles.

Don’t forget to drop me a comment or a like to let me know how I’m doing – I appreciate them all!  Later gators!

© Clever Freelance Writing 2017

Leave a comment