Western Pennsylvania School for Blind Children – Ready or Not – Here I Come!

Vaila is starting another year at WPSBC. This will be her last year of Pre-school; however, where she will attend Kindergarten next year is anyone’s guess. She loves school! She also loves her van driver and aide. Actually, she loves everything! That is her personality or condition; I’m not sure which. I’d really like to believe that it’s the former; however, I think unfortunately that it’s really the latter. She laughs at everything, even things that she shouldn’t; like when she gets in trouble or when she accidentally hurts a sibling or steps on the dog.

I wish that I could trade with her the damaged parts of her brain so she could be whole. I love her the way she is, but she is obviously behind and developmentally appropriate children her age really don’t want to play with her because she doesn’t know how to “play” and she upsets them by “not playing right.”

Compared to other children with Cerebral Palsy, Cortical Visual Impairment (CVI) and other issues her deficiencies are minimal, and she has made great strides in her physical mobility and visual complications. She was lucky to have the Early Intervention services and then admittance into the Western PA School for Blind Children at age three. But that doesn’t make it any less painful as her mother to see her rejected by her higher-functioning peers at such a young age. It makes me worry for her future. For bullying in her school-years, for what her adult life will bring her. We don’t know what her prognosis is at this time.

Dear Vaila, I wish for you a year of happiness, which for you is a given. Additionally, I wish you great personal strides in physical and emotional accomplishments. I wish you a year of less falling and more running. A year of more significant social development and valuable friends.

“The brothers”, as Vaila calls them, have already started school at Lenape Vo-Tech. Click here if you haven’t read about them. That’s three kids down – two to go!!

Click here to read about the whole CraZy lot of them!

© Clever Freelance Writing 2017

 

 

3 comments

  1. Wishing Vaila a happy and successful school year! I know a couple in their late 50s. He is completely blind (well, according to his wife he can “see” the difference between the dark and light. She is wearing glasses. They have been together for many years. Such a great couple! So optimistic and inspiring! I hope Vaila finds a few true friends soon. Just keep telling her how beautiful she is! Hugs,
    Nat

    Like

Leave a comment